Vancouver man, the Russian and I really need to get some structure in my life

So, I actually met Vancouver man the night he arrived.  I can say that he is not someone that I would look at twice.  And, if my friend hadn’t been so firm in her conviction that I would like him, he’s not even someone I would have went out with on a date as he isn’t that handsome looking type of guy.  Interestingly, just like the Russian.

I had so much fun with him on Tuesday and Wednesday night!!!  Both very, very late nights – like 3:00 a.m. late.  We hit it off like a house on fire, he’s interesting, funny and very smart and I am really, really glad I met him.  And another good kisser there let me tell you : )

He’s not leaving until early Monday morning so we will see each other again this weekend once he is finished with all of the work stuff.  But, I do have a “vacation” mentality going on here with him.  You know, when you meet someone on vacation, have a blast, and you know you are probably never going to see them again?  That’s what I’m thinking.  We live way, way too far apart to ever do anything except get together when he is in town a couple of times a year, and keep in touch by text.  It’s just not practical for me to think anything else about this.  Sort of like that really hot guy from Toronto that was in town for a few days last month.  Really like him, but out of sight, out of mind except for the texting.  There, have I over analyzed this enough yet?  I don’t think so, but I’ll stop now.

I talked to the Russian today for quite awhile.  I didn’t get to see him on Tuesday like I thought I would.  He was just not feeling that well.  He thinks he is turning a corner now and sounds good on the phone but I am really worried about him.  He’s not spending the nights in the hospital, but has been in there for most of the day every day this week.   He was thinking he may be able to stop by this afternoon, but I’m not holding my breath.  What a shitty thing to be happening to such a nice man.  And he sounds so calm and upbeat, I’d be a frigging mess if I had all that shit going on with me.  And I know I said I was moving this into the friend zone, but I really do like this guy a lot so I think I’m just going to have to wait until he gets better and see what’s what after that.

I think it is very interesting that the two extremely nice men that I’ve met in the past month were introductions made by people I’m friends with.  Neither of them are anyone I would ever in a million years look twice at, or go out on a date with if they were on ROC. Yet, here I have met two of the nicest men I’ve come across in recent memory, so clearly I am so way off base in what I think I want versus who would actually be a good match, that it kind of defies belief.  No wonder I am single.

I was thinking today (when I woke up late as even though I set the time on the alarm for 7:00 am, I actually forgot to set the damn thing and woke up at 8:30 instead) that I need to get some structure back in my life pretty quick.  October was kind of a recovery month after the stress of the job.  November I was busy with the networking and working.  But December has been a complete waste of time and I’ve accomplished bugger all really, and the month is nearly half over. I need to get my shit together and start structuring my days as if I actually have a job so I can accomplish something besides sleeping in, reading books, staying up late, eating out and drinking wine.   Yes, it’s a tough life : ) but sadly not sustainable over the long term.

So, today I’ve actually accomplished quite a bit, despite the problem with getting my ass out of bed at a normal time.  Monday I will be getting up at my usual 7:30 a.m. when I was working, and I will be making a big to-do list, and I will accomplish that to-do list by the end of this month. It’s a bit ridiculous at how good I have become at feeling really busy despite the fact that I’m not.

And a tiny ROC update:  Three men looking to meet me.  All three handsome. I will meet them next week and see what’s up there.    Oh, and one loser on ROC berated me for not answering his emails and told me he was taking me off “Mike’s list of favourites”.  What a dick!!!  Obviously, YOU added ME as a favourite, not the other way around.  I DID NOT  respond to your email so why you felt you had to send a snot-o-gram to me, I have no idea.  He has been deleted.

And now I need to figure out what I’m doing for rest of the weekend!

 

2 thoughts on “Vancouver man, the Russian and I really need to get some structure in my life

  1. Sometimes you have to “think outside the box” when meeting potential partners. It’s good to give the “not so good looking” guy a chance, you’ll never know otherwise.

Leave a Reply

