Toasting the end to the most f**cked up association with a man I have EVER HAD IN MY LIFE….

Ah, it’s done.  Finally.  There is not enough money in the world to make working with that completely dysfunctional asshole worth it.  I’ve got money saved and the pay wasn’t that great, so I’m cutting my losses and moving on.

It was quite innocuous the events leading up to this.  Last night he calls me all about his problem with a property he has that flooded because pipes froze and burst and he wanted me to do research on insurance issues.  We had a nice chat, all very civil.

I do all of that this morning, plus take 15 phone calls and five clients by noon.  Plus I called and made an appointment for my dog to go to the vet as she is old, sick and not keeping any food down whatsoever.  I texted him to tell him I had an appointment at the vet for 3:00 and would have to leave early.  (He is well aware that my dog was not feeling well).

When he got into the office around noon, he barely spoke, didn’t want to hear about my insurance research and basically he wouldn’t talk to me until I left.  Not once did he ask about my dog.  I think this is the straw that broke the camel’s back for me.  What kind of cold hearted fucking bastard would not understand that when a twelve year old dog is barfing up everything she eats, it’s a bit of a problem??  Even if you were a complete piece of shit human being, you would most likely care about a dog.

All he wanted was for me to text him when I was at the vet and let him know whether or not I was coming back to the office.  I was at the vets for over two hours as they ran blood work on my baby and I had to wait for the results and come up with a plan with the vet.  I texted him all of this.

I get back a “Well that’s good.  I don’t need you tomorrow.  I’m going to try B for the day (editorial note:  this is the woman he thought was stupid and did a shitty job last year) to see if we can work together  – I can’t get any further behind.  Have a good workout (smiley face)”

I texted him back to ask him what hours he wanted me to work this week.  He texted back “Not sure, depends on B.  I will talk to her tomorrow and let you know.  You can then decide if it works for you”.

Well, clearly that doesn’t work for me asshole, as you are just punishing me because I left early to take my dog to the vet.

So, rather than do an endless back and forth texting, I called him and asked him what his text meant.  He said “I’ve never worked so badly with anyone as I do with you”.  I asked him what he meant.  He actually said “Which part of that didn’t you understand”.  I said “No problem, I’ll drop the key off and you can get B to work full time”.  He started to get shitty with me and I hung up.

I then sent an email telling him I was dropping the key off first thing in the morning in the mail box, asked him to mail me a cheque for the money he owes me, and wished him best of luck for the rest of the tax season and thanked him for the opportunity.

To say that I am relieved this is over with is a massive understatement. I am also extremely pissed off at myself for putting myself through this.  There is going to be some serious self-analyzing going on here this week on my part.  Although the extra money was nice, and pragmatism was a good idea, pragmatism doesn’t always work when the other person is crazy.

On the upside, I now have a treasure trove of whacked out emails and texts, and conversations that are burned into my brain, and I need to decide what to do with them.  They’d make a nice coffee table book I think.

There is another glass of wine in my future tonight, even though it is a Monday.

And given my deplorable track record with men, I think it’s time to wake up and smell the coffee and realize that being single is actually a good thing.

3 thoughts on “Toasting the end to the most f**cked up association with a man I have EVER HAD IN MY LIFE….

  1. This is good news! Hope S is feeling better. Suspect creepy jerk guy will begin harrassing you as now he is out of control. The tears will be flowing. Wait for it…

Leave a Reply

