Replacing men with guns (and having way, way more fun..)

Men:  Constant bullshit, ego-soothing and mostly mediocre sex..

Guns:  Constant fun, only need to worry about my own ego, and mediocre shooting is a challenge to be overcome, not something to be tossed from my life.

Go big or go home is my motto, so in keeping with that philosophy, I am now National Firearms Association holster certified : )

I cannot even explain how excited I am about this!!!  I blew off work and took a one-day holster certification course on Tuesday.  And, I have to say, it was completely amazing, intense and one of the most nerve wracking experiences I’ve ever had once we got out on the firing range and put things into practise.

I think anyone who knows me can attest to the fact that I am a pretty confident woman who isn’t easily intimidated by things.  But holy crap, once that loaded gun was nestled in my holster, I was hyper-aware that the possibility of shooting myself in the leg or foot was pretty real.  Like shoot a hole in your foot kind of real.

That, not to mention the fact that I’ve never actually de-cocked a gun before.  Which, for some reason, scared the living shit out of me, and I had to do it with the gun I was using (a CZ SP-01 Shadow). It involves pulling the trigger gently while moving the hammer up.  Then the gun goes into the holster, ready to fire.  So, sounds simple, and yes it is, but all I could think was “I’m going to mistakenly fire this gun if I don’t move that hammer properly”.  Which would be considered a “negligent discharge”.  Which has been drilled into my head that is a very, very bad thing.

I just couldn’t wrap my mind around how this could possibly be even a remotely safe thing to do (even with the gun pointed down-range).  And yes, I did get it, and it didn’t even take me that long to get it. I chalk all of that anxiety over this up to me being a girl and over-analyzing everything, as none of the men on the course seemed to have one iota of an issue with it (and the only other woman had a SA so didn’t have to worry about it).

Anyway, once I got it, and we started shooting and doing drills, and I passed the test, all I could think was “this really is the most fun you can have with your clothes on”.

I guess I’m pretty hard-core now – my Friday night will be spent at the range shooting guns.  I hardly recognize myself : )

shooting v2

One thought on “Replacing men with guns (and having way, way more fun..)

  1. Pingback: Replacing men with guns (and having way, way more fun..) | Rifleman III Journal

Leave a Reply

